Three Songs

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

It was the early 2000s when this song came out and my first thought was, “wow, very original”. I loved the message it sent to girls and women all around the world. It was a positive song that empowered the female gender. The woman who sang it is India Arie and the name of the song is Video. She tells us that she is not your average girl from videos, she’s not built like a super-model and she’s just India Arie. Straight to the point, no beating around the bush. It resonated with me, because I never wear make-up unless I’m in a wedding party. I have never thought to start wearing it and I don’t think I will at any point in the future. I am happy with how I look and that’s that. I guess it comes from my father’s advice as a young girl. He was always talking to me about how nature created us in our own perfection, so why mess with that. That stuck with me and until this day, I am proud to say, I am a woman who doesn’t use make-up.

The year 2002 it was, I think when Daughters by John Mayer surfaced in our world. Now I must say, I am a big fan of John Mayer’s from his days of Room for Squares. However this song took my fan level to the highest. Every time I listened to it, tears would form in my eyes and I’d get that choking feeling in my throat. The effect was just amazing to me. The words touched me.

Fathers be good to your daughters, daughters will love like you do. Girls become lovers who turn into mothers, so mothers be good to your daughters too.

The last song is quite special to me, because it reminds me of the time I made my journey to Australia to marry my boyfriend, now my husband. The song was by one of my favourite artists, Pink. It’s called Who Knew. It was the year 2006 and I had arrived in Perth, Australia where my hubby and I would tie the note. The song was playing all over the radio stations and the moment I first heard it, I was in love. However, I had to go back to my job in Ethiopia after two weeks. When that two weeks ended, my husband was driving me to the airport and of course the song had to come on the radio. I just remember us both having teary eyes. We wouldn’t see each other for another 6 or so months.

I love music and this was an exciting writing challenge.

pingback: Writing 101 Day 3 Prompt

8 thoughts on “Three Songs

  1. I ltoo love that song by Indie Arie…and make-up was never my thing unless like you i was going to party of sorts. Certain music will always make us nostalgic and transport us to the time and place that we associate with it and with that comes the emotions too. Great blog

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment or two

