Nairobi Living

Tell us about the home where you lived when you were twelve.
Today’s twist: pay attention to your sentence lengths and use short, medium, and long sentences as you compose.

It was the year 1994 and I was twelve years old. I lived in a two bedroom apartment in Nairobi, Kenya with my mother and two brothers. A year earlier, my mother had been transferred from Ethiopia to Kenya through her work. My father had made the decision to remain in Ethiopia. I recall having mixed emotions about the situation during that time. Sadness and excitement. I would miss my father, but at the same time, a new life awaited.

The residential apartment complex we lived in was guarded by a security company. The gate was manned 24 hours and anyone that approached the entrance would be checked. This was normal practice for most apartment complexes in Nairobi as there were home robberies occurring around the city every day. Driving into the compound, one would notice the beautiful, wide green space in the centre, with flowers surrounding it. The apartment we lived in faced this grassy area.

Our apartment was on the second floor. Upon entering, one would see the living and dining area on the left. It was an open space. The windows had a beautiful view of the green space downstairs. The brightness of the sun would light up the room each morning. It was lovely.

On the opposite side was the kitchen. It also had a small storage room, which we used as a pantry. Next to the kitchen was a bathroom, which my older brother and I used. Next to that was my mother’s bedroom, which she shared with my little brother. They also had an ensuite bathroom. My older brother and I shared the second bedroom, which when looking out of the window, one could see and enjoy the beautiful view of the grassy area downstairs. The window came in handy when we wanted to check if other children were playing outside, so that we could go and join in the fun. We loved playing all kinds of games on that grass. It also reminded us of our little garden back in Ethiopia.

pingback: Writing 101 Day 11 Prompt

Leave a Comment or two

